UCAS Points Guide

UCAS points differentiate students studying post 16 qualifications and are used for entry to higher education courses.

Higher education courses at Lakes College require 120 UCAS points in a relevant subject. Please note: from September 2017 the number of UCAS points varies depending on the course being studied. Please see course information for further details.

Below, you can see how many UCAS points you will need/gain under the new tariff system


Pearson BTEC Subsidiary Diploma (QCF)

Grade Tariff Points
D* 56
D 48
M 32
P 16

Size band: 4

Grade bands: 4-14


Pearson BTEC Extended Diploma (QCF)

Grade Tariff Points
D*D*D* 168
D*D*D 160
D*DD 152
DDD 144
DDM 128
DMM 112
MMM 96
MMP 80
MPP 64
PPP 48

Size band: 4+4+4=12

Grade bands: 4-14


A level and Advanced VCE

Grade Tariff Points
A* 56
A 48
B 40
C 32
D 24
E 16

Size band: 4

Grade bands: 4-14

Offered by AQA, CCEA, OCR, Pearson Edexcel and WJEC